fbpx

Bâtissez votre startup biotech

L’un des plus grands défis à relever pour lancer une entreprise dans le secteur des nouvelles technologies consiste à cerner la viabilité commerciale des recherches que l’on mène. Le programme Biohub de District 3 vous fournit les outils et les cadres nécessaires pour adapter vos recherches aux besoins du marché.

Quand la recherche répond à la demande de l’industrie

Programme de huit semaines à l’intention des entrepreneurs et entrepreneuses scientifiques en début de carrière qui font des études de maîtrise, de doctorat ou postdoctorales dans les secteurs des STIM, ou qui les ont terminées, et qui souhaitent adapter leurs recherches aux besoins du marché. Les fondateurs et fondatrices y acquièrent les connaissances, les compétences et le réseau nécessaires pour bâtir une entreprise biotechnologique viable et susceptible de conquérir le monde.

Ateliers et réseautage avec des experts de renom
15 heures d’engagement par semaine
Admissibilité à notre laboratoire expérimental ultramoderne

J’ai été chercheuse toute ma vie. Les brevets et les documents n’ont une forte incidence que lorsqu’un produit, une thérapie ou un outil se concrétise. J’ai énormément évolué depuis, grâce à une aide efficace qui m’a guidée tout au long de mon parcours entrepreneurial.”

Margaret Magdesian, Ph. D., cofondatrice d’Ananda Devices

Ce que vous en retirez

Réalisez une analyse de l’écart à combler au sein de l’industrie

Entrevues auprès des clients et définition des besoins du marché.

Élaborez un prototype et mettez votre solution à l’épreuve

Apprenez les notions de base du prototypage en évaluant la faisabilité technique de vos solutions et la façon de les mettre à l’essai sur le marché.

Établissez la feuille de route de votre nouvelle entreprise

Produisez une feuille de route détaillée qui vous aidera à recruter une équipe solide et à amasser des fonds de démarrage.

Notre District BioHub

Premier du genre au Canada, le District BioHub vous donne accès à des laboratoires in silico et expérimentaux ultramodernes, grâce auxquels vous pouvez concevoir des produits performants en vous fondant sur des découvertes et des concepts scientifiques.

Équipement technique
Table de laboratoire
Espace partagé de travail
Réseau interdisciplinaire de spécialistes

Faites connaissance avec l’équipe

Edna Chosack
Cofondatrice, Symbionix
Edna Chosack
Cofondatrice, Symbionix

Cofondatrice, Symbionix

Forte d’une solide expérience sur la scène internationale de la commercialisation d’idées et se tenant toujours à la croisée de l’entrepreneuriat et de l’apprentissage par l’expérience, Edna Chosack, M. Sc., MBA, est coach principal à District 3. Étant cofondatrice de Simbionix et vice-présidente du marketing stratégique, Edna Chosack est mondialement reconnue au nombre des quelques experts se servant de l’apprentissage par l’expérience dans le domaine de la simulation en médecine pour forger des modèles de réussite en affaires – contribuant à transformer Simbionix en un chef de file international de la simulation chirurgicale, dont 3D Systems s’est porté acquéreur. À Montréal, Edna Chosack a instauré et dirige le secteur d’activités de la simulation chirurgicale de CAE. Elle a été membre du comité consultatif du Centre de simulation et d’apprentissage interactif Steinberg de l’Université McGill. Elle fait également de la consultation en marketing stratégique et gestion de produits, faisant bénéficier d’autres marchés de son expérience.

Ana Fernandez, Ph.D
Coordonnatrice BioHub, District 3
Ana Fernandez, Ph.D
Coordonnatrice BioHub, District 3

Coordonnatrice BioHub, District 3

Le rôle d’Ana Fernandez compte de multiples facettes qui touchent tous les aspects de la filière des sciences de la vie en constante évolution à District 3 et au Pôle Biotechnologique, où elle favorise une synergie entre recherche scientifique et entrepreneuriat. Par ses idées et ses efforts pour appuyer l’établissement de divers programmes et initiatives, elle ouvre la voie pour passer du laboratoire au marché et créer des entreprises de biotechnologie et de sciences de la vie qui auront un fort impact. Ana Fernandez coordonne un écosystème dynamique peuplé de chercheurs, d’entrepreneurs, d’organismes publics, d’investisseurs et de grands mentors de l’industrie, dans le but de créer activement des débouchés axés sur les besoins uniques des entrepreneurs scientifiques.

Avant d’entrer à District 3, Ana Fernandez a fait un doctorat en neurosciences à l’Université McGill et une maîtrise en sciences comportementale à l’International Max Planck Research School, à Tübingen, en Allemagne. Ses travaux sur le processus décisionnel, les troubles de fonctionnement du cerveau et la réadaptation cognitive lui ont valu plus de 100 000 $ en bourses. Ana Fernandez a pour passion l’innovation et le resserrement de l’écart entre les sciences et les affaires.

 

Mahzad Sharifahmadian, Ph.D
Gestionnaire du BioHub, District 3
Mahzad Sharifahmadian, Ph.D
Gestionnaire du BioHub, District 3

Gestionnaire du BioHub, District 3

Mahzad Sharifahmadian est titulaire d’une bourse de recherche en sciences de la vie et gestionnaire du Pôle Biotechnologique de District 3. Elle aide les chercheurs en sciences de la vie à trouver des débouchés sur le marché pour leurs travaux de recherche. Elle a formé un réseau d’experts en recherche afin qu’ils collaborent à la résolution des problèmes de la société et de l’industrie, et qu’ils trouvent ensemble des solutions.

Mahzad Sharifahmadian est titulaire d’un doctorat en biochimie et en médecine moléculaire de l’Université de Montréal. Son domaine d’expertise est la conception et le développement de nouveaux médicaments pour traiter des infections résistantes aux antibiotiques, sujet sur lequel elle a publié divers articles. À la fin de son doctorat, Mahzad Sharifahmadian a cofondé Rubisco, une entreprise de biotechnologie qui met au point des dispositifs permettant le diagnostic des pathogènes au point de service (dissoute en 2018).

Jane Somerville
Directrice des programmes, District 3
Jane Somerville
Directrice des programmes, District 3

Directrice des programmes, District 3 

Jane Somerville, MBA, est directrice des programmes à District 3, à l’Université Concordia. À ce titre, elle est responsable de diriger et d’élaborer l’offre de programmes à l’intention des entrepreneurs cherchant à démarrer une entreprise. Jane Somerville est une professionnelle passionnée qui compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience auprès d’entrepreneurs canadiens. Avant d’intégrer l’équipe de D3, elle a travaillé à la BDC, où elle aidait de petites, moyennes et grandes entreprises de tout le Canada et de tous les secteurs de l’industrie en concevant et en proposant des services de consultation novateurs sur la gestion stratégique, le marketing numérique et la gestion des ventes. Elle-même entrepreneure, Jane Somerville a fondé un répertoire en ligne de meubles et de magasins d’ameublement dans les grandes villes canadiennes.

Partenaires

Génome Québec

FAQ

Qui peut utiliser le Pôle Biotechnologique?

Le Pôle Biotechnologique est réservé aux entreprises en démarrage de District 3 qui se concentrent sur l’expansion de leurs travaux de recherche et la conception de prototypes.

De quel équipement dispose le Pôle Biotechnologique, et où se trouve-t-il?

Le Pôle Biologie dispose de l’équipement et des appareils ci-dessous, que peuvent utiliser les entreprises en démarrage de District 3 répondant aux exigences.

  • Culture cellulaire et biologie moléculaire : Incubateurs à CO2 et de microbiologie, enceinte de sécurité biologique, thermocycleur, centrifugeuses réfrigérées, non réfrigérées et haute vitesse, agitateurs réfrigérés et incubés.
  • Travail d’analyse : Système d’imagerie, PCR quantitative, spectromètre pour nanogoutte/microvolume
  • Chimie : CLPH, balances de précision et à plateau supérieur
  • Entrepôt frigorifique : congélateur à -30 et -80 degrés, et réfrigérateurs
  • Accès subventionné à la fonderie de génomes de Concordia

Le Pôle Biotechnologique loge au premier niveau du Carrefour des sciences appliquées, un pavillon en cours de certification LEED or. C’est dire que tous les utilisateurs et utilisatrices seront bientôt fiers de travailler dans un édifice durable et certifié écologique! 

Combien coûte l’utilisation du laboratoire expérimental?

Toutes les entreprises en démarrage de District 3 du domaine des sciences de la vie peuvent utiliser notre laboratoire gratuitement. Nous n’exigeons aucuns frais d’utilisation de l’équipement, et nous ne prenons aucun droit sur l’actif ni aucun droit de propriété intellectuelle.

Ai-je besoin d’une formation sur la sécurité pour utiliser le laboratoire expérimental?

Vous devrez suivre une formation dispensée par l’équipe responsable de la santé et la sécurité environnementale de Concordia.

Je suis une chercheuse ou un chercheur de l’extérieur de l’Université Concordia. Est-ce que je peux quand même utiliser le laboratoire expérimental?

Le laboratoire de biologie est réservé aux chercheuses et chercheurs inscrits aux programmes de District 3.

Not ready to apply for the BioHub Program? Need to further validate your idea?

fbpx

Build your Biotech Startup

Market Discovery Program

As a researcher in emerging technologies, one of the biggest challenges in building a company is identifying the market viability of your research. District 3’s market discovery program provides you with the necessary tools and frameworks for finding research-market fit.  

Where research meets market demand

An 8-week program for early-stage scientific entrepreneurs who are completing or have completed a masters, PhD, or Postdoc in STEM fields and want to find research-market fit. Founders will gain the knowledge, skills, and network to build a viable business with the potential for global impact in the biotech and life sciences fields.

Weekly workshops & networking events with renowned experts
15 hours per week time commitment
Eligibility to access our state-of-the-art wetlab 

When starting a company, there are a lot of unknowns and I had to learn things I didn’t know as a scientist. The training provided me with the skills and knowledge to fill in the gaps I was missing to build a successful business."

Margaret Magdesian, Ph.D., Co-founder of Ananda Devices

What You Gain

Complete an Industry Gap Analysis

Customer interviews and identification of market needs.

Develop a Prototype and Test Your Solution

Learn the fundamentals of prototyping, assessing the technical feasibility of your solutions, and how to test it in the market.

Build Your Startup Roadmap

Develop a detailed roadmap to help you recruit a strong team and raise funds for your startup. 

Our Biohub District

The first of its kind in Canada, the BioHub provides state-of-the-art dry and wet laboratories to help you develop successful products based on scientific discoveries and ideas.

Technical Equipment
Lab Bench
Co-Working Space
Interdisciplinary Expert Network

Our Coaches & Mentors

Edna Chosack
Senior Life Sciences & Medtech Coach, District 3
Edna Chosack
Senior Life Sciences & Medtech Coach, District 3

Senior Life Sciences & Medtech Coach, District 3

With a wealth of international experience in taking ideas to market and always at the dynamic intersection of where entrepreneurship and experiential learning meet, Edna Chosack, M.Sc., MBA, is a Senior Coach at District 3. Chosack co-founded Simbionix Inc. As co-founder and VP Strategic Marketing, she became internationally recognized as being one of a handful of experts who leverage medical-simulation experiential learning into business success stories–helping to transform Simbionix into an international surgical-simulation leader, acquired by 3D Systems. In Montreal, Edna established and served as Director of CAE’s surgical-simulation business line. She was a member of the advisory committee at McGill University’s Steinberg Centre for Simulation and Interactive Learning. She is also a strategic marketing and product management consultant, carrying over her experience in other markets.

Ana Fernandez, Ph.D
Life Sciences Coordinator
Ana Fernandez, Ph.D
Life Sciences Coordinator

Coordinator, Life Sciences, District 3 

Ana’s multi-facetted role touches all aspects of District 3’s ever evolving Life Sciences stream and BioHub where she helps foster the powerful intersection between scientific research and entrepreneurship. By ideating and supporting the implementation of different initiatives and programs, her work paves the lab-to-market path to create high-impact Life Sciences and biotech companies. Ana animates a dynamic ecosystem involving researchers, entrepreneurs, public agencies, investors, and top industry mentors to proactively create opportunities based on the unique needs scientific entrepreneurs. 

Prior to District 3, Ana completed a Ph.D. in Neuroscience at McGill University and an MSc in Behavioural Sciences at the Max Planck Research School in Tübingen, Germany.  Her work on decision making, impairments in brain function and cognitive rehabilitation has secured her over $100k in awards. Ana is passionate about innovation and bridging the gap between science and business.

 

Vincent Martin, Ph.D
Chief Scientific Officer
Vincent Martin, Ph.D
Chief Scientific Officer

Chief Scientific Officer 

Vincent Martin is an Associate Professor in Microbiology in the Department of Biology at Concordia University and holds the Canada Research Chair in Microbial Genomics and Engineering. He obtained a B.Sc. in Microbiology from McGill University (1989), an M.Sc. in Environmental Biology from the University of Guelph (1993) and a PhD in Microbiology from the University of British Columbia (1999) under the supervision of Dr. Bill Mohn, where he elucidated the metabolic pathway for plant diterpene biodegradation in Pseudomonas. His post-doctoral studies were performed with Dr. Jay Keasling at the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, where he engineered E. coli for over-production of isoprenoids. In 2003, he joined the Physical Biosciences Division of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. The same year, with help from a $43 million grant from the Gates Foundation, he co-founded Amyris Biotechnologies where he currently serves as a scientific advisor. 

In 2004, he joined Concordia University as an Assistant Professor, Vincent Martin’s interests are focused on the metabolic engineering of microbes for the degradation of plant biomass and the production of commodity and high value chemicals. He is the project co-leader for a recently funded $13.6 million Genome Canada grant aimed at the commercial production of high-value plant metabolites in microbial fermentation systems. Vincent Martin is also the fermentation theme leader for the AAFC Cellulosic Biofuels and the NSERC Bioconversion Networks. He currently serves on the editorial board of the Canadian Journal of Microbiology, Bioengineered Bugs and the Water, Air and Soil Pollution journal.

Mahzad Sharifahmadian, Ph.D
Life Science Manager
Mahzad Sharifahmadian, Ph.D
Life Science Manager

Life Sciences Fellow & Biohub Manager, District 3

Mahzad Sharifahmadian is the Life Sciences Fellow and Biohub Manager at District 3. She empowers life sciences researchers to bring their research to market, and has built a network of research experts for collaboration and co-creation to solve societal and industry challenges. 

She holds a Ph.D. in Biochemistry & Molecular Medicine from Université de Montréal, with expertise and publications on the design and development of novel drugs for antibiotic-resistant infections. While finishing her Ph.D., she co-founded Rubisco, a biotech company offering point-of-care diagnosis of pathogens (dissolved in 2018).

Jane Somerville
Program Director, District 3
Jane Somerville
Program Director, District 3

Program Director, District 3 

Jane Somerville, MBA is the Director of Programs at Concordia University’s District 3. In this role, she is responsible for leading and developing the program offering targeted to entrepreneurs building startups. Jane is a passionate business professional with more than 25 years of experience working with Canadian entrepreneurs. Prior to joining D3, Jane worked at BDC where she helped small, medium and large companies across Canada, across all industry sectors, building and delivering innovative advisory services in strategic management, digital marketing and sales management. As an entrepreneur herself, Jane founded an online directory of furniture and furniture stores in major Canadian cities.

Our Partners

Génome Québec

FAQ

Who can use the Biohub facilities?

The Biohub is reserved for District 3 startups who are focusing on expanding their research and developing prototypes. Once you complete the Market Discovery Program, you will be eligible to use the BioHub facilities.

What equipment do you have in the Biohub and where is it located?

The Biohub includes the following equipment and instrumentation, and it is available to use to District 3 startups who meet requirements:

  • Cell Culture & Molecular Biology: Microbiology and CO2 Incubators, Biological Safety Cabinet, Thermal Cycler, refrigerated, non-refrigerated and high-speed centrifuges, refrigerated and incubated shakers.
  • Analytics: Imaging System, quantitative PCR, spectrometer, and nanodrop/microvolume spectrometer
  • Chemistry: HPLC, analytical and top-loading balances
  • Cold Storage: -30 and -80 freezers, and refrigerators
  • Subsidized access to Concordia’s Genome Foundry 

The Biohub is located on the first floor of the Applied Sciences Hub, a building that is in the process of receiving a LEED Gold certification. This means that all users will soon be proud to work on a sustainable and green-certified building! .

How much does it cost to use the wetlab?

Our lab is free to use for any of District 3’s life sciences startups. We don’t charge you for the equipment, we don’t take equity and your intellectual property remains your own. 

Do I require safety training to use the wetlab?

You will need to get training provided by Concordia University Environmental Health & Safety.

I’m a researcher not part of Concordia University, can I still use the wetlab?

The Biolab is reserved for researchers who are completing District 3’s programs.

Not ready to apply for the Market Discovery Program? Need to further validate your idea?